Political thoughts of the day


This morning I woke up to hearing a comment being said about how great it is that Obama is willing to quote scripture and talk about Easter when it isn’t politically correct to do so.  I wanted to scream at them, what about last year when he refused to acknowledge the National Day of Prayer, and if I remember correctly cancelled it.  Don’t you find it interesting that he is more Christian than last year?  Hmm, I wonder what the difference can be?  Could it be that he has announce is once again in campaign mode since he just announced that he is running for a second term?

Enough about the pResident, because I actually have been thinking about Trump running for President lately.  But, before I talk about Trump, I will say that I really like Sarah Palin, but there is one little point about her that is making me feel like she won’t be a strong enough President. It is the fact that she picks venues to speak at and interviews to give that are safe.  Many times, she is preaching to the choir.  Maybe it is something that the choir needs to hear, but it is still a bit too safe for me.  I can see why she doesn’t want to deal with the LSM, but at the same time, if she can’t deal with them on her terms then how will she be seen as strong enough by other world leaders.  I just don’t feel like she can hold her own as the leader of the free world.  Until I see an interview that is not in a safe venue, I can’t support her as President.

I think she is in a great position to speak out and ensure that this country goes back to the roots of what the founding fathers wanted this country to be.  I once was told that while the Republic they founded was imperfect, it could be looked at as being imperfect for a reason.  I’m all about less government for the simple reason when we let the government do for us and for others, we lose a lot more than we realize.  When we expect the government to take care of the homeless, we lose a bit of the part of us that needs to care for others and want to help others.  I think that by letting the government do this, we have become too selfish to help others.  Speaking of this, and then I will return to my first comment, I think that the tax code should allow 100% deductions to charitable organizations no matter what income level you are at.  While people may give for the tax benefit at the same time they are thinking about doing for others, even if at a very small level.

I have been reading a lot of comments and blog posts that talk about Trump not even being a RINO but a Democrat in sheep’s clothing.  I can see how many can see this of him.  I am surprised that I find myself agreeing with him in what I am hearing from him. But, at the same time, I can see that he is probably more old school Democrat when there was a much thinner line separating the two parties when it comes to their platforms.  His donations to Democrats don’t bother me too much because it is due to two things.
The first is that he lives in very blue states, so it really is hard to support a Republican that can win.  The second is that at his level, he has to donate to those he thinks will win as a form of protection money.  I read that he had made a statement that there should be a 1 time tax on the extremely wealthy to help get us back on level ground economically.  I was disappointed to find out that he stated this in 1999.  (While I do find it interesting that he thought we needed to do that when Clinton was supposed to have been such a strong President when it came to the economy.  Actually, I realize that there was somewhat of a fake economy at the time due to dot coms and Y2K preparation that had increased salaries out of the normal range in some areas.)  But, without realizing the time frame of when he said it, I thought it made perfect sense for now.  I would want a protection to be made where it could only happen one time.  But, economically speaking, I do think in a way it would stimulate the economy if it put a lot of other long term tax deductions and spending cuts in the mix.  I say this because when the stock market crashed in 2008, most high end investors lost about 25% of the value of their investments.  I am sure that they would be willing to lose a portion of that in order to be put in the position to gain it back based on a better economy.  I know I usually say that taxes don’t stimulate the economy, but until we stop the spending and get rid of the debt, the economy is going to be standing still.

Finally, please put two and two together if you don’t realize this.  Corporations do not pay taxes.  Granted, they file long tax returns just like you do showing how much money they made, their deductions, and then the amount they have due and just like you this income is based on money that they have received for products and services rendered.  Here is the thing that I don’t think liberals realize.  The money they receive for products and services comes from consumers.  It may take a step or two before it gets to a individual consumer if they are a business to business service provider.  But, they figure in what they expect to pay for taxes into the cost of doing business and then put this in the cost that they charge the consumer.  So, you are basically paying a portion of their tax when you purchase any service or product from a corporation.  So, if you want to pay higher prices on your purchases than lets make sure that corporations pay more than their share of tax.  Or you can just send pay more when you buy items and tell the cashier to tell the corporation to apply this to their tax general ledger line items or you can pay the IRS more when you pay your taxes with a note that since you want to make sure corporations pay a higher tax, you have figured out this is the amount you would have paid the corporations for items if they had been charged at the higher rate.  Sounds kind of stupid doesn’t it.  Personally, I am wondering if the economy would thrive if corporations tax rates were greatly reduced.  I suspect it would because why state and local governments give tax breaks to corporations that move into their areas.

Leave a Reply

