Don’t tell me what makes me a feminist


So, once again I am going to write a post about a subject that I tend to want to stay away from. Yes, once again a post on abortion. I read an interesting post yesterday that got me thinking. Then, I read a post by a woman who was a feminist and ranting that unless you were her definition of a feminist you aren’t a feminist and actually are against other women. In it, when she made an argument against the first post’s opinion about abortion.

In her post she made a comment that basically abortion needs to be made available because free birth control is not available to all women. Well, I have posted my beliefs on abortion before so I don’t need to repeat them here. I will say that I don’t believe that abortion should be seen as a form of birth control. However, what caught my attention was the belief that birth control needs to be free. Granted if you go to clinics, they will hand you free stuff and you pay by sliding scale. But, here is what I realized a long time ago. If you can’t afford birth control, you can’t afford a child. If you have sex without protection, you must deal with the consequences and accept responsibility for what you did. If you have the maturity to have sex then you need to accept the responsibility to be prepared because the cost of being prepared is a lot cheaper than the cost of the consequences. It is not my responsibility to pay for your birth control, just like it is not my responsibility to pay for any activity you do for entertainment.

2 thoughts on “Don’t tell me what makes me a feminist

  1. Exosmesee says:

    Great site this garnette.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. fidway says:

    rated site this garnette.wordpress.com formidable to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

