Obama’s teleprompter mistake


I was not going to say a word about the teleprompter error, but then I read this article and I have to say something. This is the exact part of the speech that got me.

Barack Obama thanks himself

Mr Obama is an accomplished orator but is becoming known in America as the “teleprompt president” over his reliance on the machine when he gives a speech.

I’m not a great speaker, however, I have learned the basics of giving a speech. One basic thing about giving speeches is that you have an idea of what you are going to say. For instance, I tend to remember the 3 points I want to give in a speech and then speak about the 3 points in the correct order. I also have learned how to not say anything rather than use filler sounds, you know uh, er, oh, ah. I hate it when I listen to someone speak and they lose credibility with me as a speaker when I begin to count the filler sounds. Thus, I have never understood why Obama is thought of as a great speaker. Unless he is reading he teleprompter, I find myself counting filler sounds.

But, this is the question I really am wondering about. How can a person read a speech and have no idea that he is reading the wrong one? Is he so on autopilot when he reads that he had no idea what he was saying? Come on, he says things about Ireland and thanks himself and has no clue that he is not reading his own speech. I think it also shows that he probably didn’t even read the speech, much less have any input about the speech, that he was going to read. So, please explain to me, why do people say he is a great orator?

Leave a Reply

