HR 1388 is it going to be mandatory volunteer service?


As Obama plans to save money by letting Congress initiate a provision in a bill that would generate income by having Veterans use their private insurance to pay for service related injuries, there is a bill that on the house floor, HR 1388, that is all about service for youth and seniors. I read through the bill and I got somewhat confused because I can’t tell if this is just changing Americorps type programs or really introducing mandatory volunteer service. I suspect it is a little of both because at the end of the bill a committee is created to review volunteerism in the United States. I would suggest searching on HR 1388 to read the bill yourself. Although it appears that most of the bill is changing language in previous bills.

The one thing that bothers me in the bill is that it says it will pay $500 or $1000 for 100 hours of service. That seems very good pay for “volunteering.” And, a lot more than what Americorps or Vista volunteers get per hour for their year long commitment of service.

This is the link to the first article I wrote back in November about Mandatory Volunteer Service.

By the way, Obama, I volunteer, I donate, I work for nonprofit agencies, why do you think I need to do more? Or is it you want to feel that I work for you not that you work for us. Yep, in case you didn’t know it you got over 300 million bosses. We are your bosses, you are not ours!

One thought on “HR 1388 is it going to be mandatory volunteer service?

  1. kerry says:

    Funny. Until those morons in D.C clean up their own messes they can not worry about telling me & my family what to do. I’ll take care of that thanks big bro.

Leave a Reply

