Tax us by the mile not so fast


I really can’t believe this is even being considered.  I know at one point last summer I heard this but think that the problems with it outweight the benefits of it.  However, I really don’t think it is the business of anyone how many miles I drive in my car.

Vehicle mileage tax

The first thing that comes to mind is that they are going to look at charging more if you drive in peak times.  Well, the peak times are when I need to get to and from work, and I don’t have a say in the matter of what hours I work, so I am being penalized by having a job.  The second thing is that I made a choice to live further from work because of a few things I wanted in a home that I could not find in a home closer to work.  Now, I am going to have additional costs just because I live further for work.  Or I could just say, I have to live further out because I can’t afford the homes that are closer to work.  So, I am being taxed more because I make less money than others.   Let’s not forget that it sounds great, let’s put something in so we can collect taxes this way in addition to that way.  But, if you start to think about it how tax money is going to go to actually put this plan in action.   Oh, I like that we are going to use tax money to create a new way to collect tax money.  Wouldn’t it be easier to just figure we are collecting less taxes a certain way and adjust the federal budget?

Oh, and notice that many people would have to adjust their own budgets so that they can pay more taxes to a government that can’t seem to adjust their own budget as they go more and more in debt.  Also, it seems like we are now working to serve the government, rather than the government being there to serve us.

I don’t believe the replace either, it will be in addition.  When do they ever take taxes away?

Updated on 2/20/2009

According to Gibbs, Obama nixes plan to tax by miles driven.
Obama nixes plan

One thought on “Tax us by the mile not so fast

  1. […] Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Tax us by the mile not so fastOur income taxes haven’t gone up…yetCorporate taxes and […]

Leave a Reply

